England name ODI squad for West Indies series

England Women have named a squad of 15 for the first two Royal London ODIs against West Indies.

The squad sees the return of Sophie Ecclestone, Jenny Gunn and Sarah Taylor who weren’t part of the group for England’s tour of Sri Lanka. However, Georgia Elwiss misses out through injury.

England won all six games in Sri Lanka to take their winning run to 10 games, having won four on the bounce in India. It represents England’s fifth best run of consecutive all-format victories.

The three ODIs against West Indies form part of the ICC Women’s Championship. England currently sit second in the table on 18 points, with two more wins taking them to 22 points and qualification for the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand.

Captain, Heather Knight said: “It’s a massive summer for us and we’re hugely excited to get going. We got ourselves into a really good place towards the back-end of the India trip and then throughout Sri Lanka. I want us to maintain those levels this summer.

“West Indies will be a big test, so we’ll need to be at our best. We’ve continued to grow and progress as a team and we’re confident about what we can bring to the table.

“The first step is qualifying for the ICC Women’s World Cup before we can begin to think about the IT20s and reclaiming the Ashes.”

Heather Knight (Berkshire, captain)

Tammy Beaumont (Kent)

Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)

Kate Cross (Lancashire)

Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire)

Alex Hartley (Lancashire)

Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)

Amy Jones (Warwickshire)

Laura Marsh (Kent)

Nat Sciver (Surrey)

Anya Shrubsole (Berkshire)

Sarah Taylor (Sussex, wicketkeeper)

Fran Wilson (Kent)

Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire)

Danni Wyatt (Sussex)


Royal London Women’s ODI Series

Thursday June 6: England v West Indies (Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, Leicester)

Sunday June 9: England v West Indies (Blackfinch New Road, Worcester)

Thursday June 13: England v West Indies (CloudFM County Ground, Chelmsford)

Image courtesy of Getty Images